Gallery

Making My Own Notebook

I’ve always loved the concept of Midori notebooks. The fact that you can add and subtract inserts as you need them offers a wonderful level of flexibility. I decided to try my hand at making my own.

I debated on sewing my own cover out of an amazing fabric I had found but realized I would prefer a hard cover for durability. I pick a notebook I’ve had for a long time but have never used because I loved it so much and didn’t want to “ruin” it and proceeded to ruin it….as in I ripped out the inner pages and installed four elastics to hold the new books. It worked perfectly!

Next I made the inner notebooks. I found quite a few templates from DIY Planner that suited the size of the notebook (5×8) as well as I’m a Paper Nerd. I followed the tutorial from I’m a Paper Nerd and the notebooks worked out beautifully. They were a lot of fun to make! I also found that Moleskine notebooks fit inside the cover as well. The only downside is the width of the hardcover book limits the amount of notebooks you can fit inside it (two Moleskines or four 20-page handmade books).

I replaced the old diary lock with a clasp I made of found objects from Michaels and a loop made for holding index cards.

Leave a Reply

